f t g m
Copyright 2024 - Custom text here

Arizona Vehicle Registration and Registration Renewal

Automobile Registration Renewal is offered at Quick Stop Title and Registration. You no longer need to wait for your registration renewal. We pride ourselves in walk-in walk-out service. 

Arizona law provides that a license plate is assigned to the vehicle owner, instead of the vehicle itself. Registration will expire on either the 15th or the last day of the month.

Most vehicles may be registered for either one or two years at a time in Arizona. Some vehicles must be emission tested every year, and are therefore will not eligible for two-year registration. Permanent registration will be issued for some trailers and all-terrain and off-road recreational vehicles.

How much will it cost to Register my vehicle?

State's Fee Breakdown:

  • $1.50 Air quality fee ($3.00 for 2 years)
  • $8.00 registration fee
  • Vehicle License Tax (fee varies from vehicle to vehicle)
  • Weight and commercial fees (for commercial vehicles only)

What is Vehicle License Tax and how much will it be?

The VLT is based on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer's original retail price (list price/MSRP) and is reduced by 16.5% every year from when the vehicle was first registered. The rate is then calculated based on the assessed value. ($2.80 per $100 of assessed value for new vehicles and $2.89 per $100 of assessed value for used vehicles)

The vehicle license tax goes towards the State Highways fund, your county roads, your city/town roads, your county general fund and your city/town general fund.

State Emissions for Arizona

For most of the state of Arizona, your vehicle is required to have an emissions test every 1-2 years before you can register or renew registration on your vehicle. 

Emissions Exemptions:
  • The vehicle is within the most recent 5 model years
  • The vehicle year is 1966 or older
  • A classic vehicle (must have classic car insurance at time of application and continue to keep the vehicle insured under classic car insurance)
  • Motorcycles
  • Golf Carts
  • Vehicle is kept in a county or zip code that is exempt from emissions. See if you qualify for emissions exemption.

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality is responsible for the emissions laws and testing. Test results are automatically sent to the MVD state system electronically so that you may renew as soon as your vehicle passes the test! 

Find the nearest emissions test site and view wait times.

Registration Late Fees

The initial fee for a late registration is $8, plus an additional $4 for each month it's overdue.

If your vehicle fails the initial or any subsequent emissions test, you will not be charged a penalty fee for late registration renewal if the original test was before the registration expiration date and the registration renewal is completed within 30 days of the original test.

Registering All-terrain and off-road recreational vehicles

All-terrain and off-road recreational vehicles that operate only on dirt roads located in unincorporated areas of Arizona must be titled and have a plate, but are exempt from registration and insurance requirements.

There are 4 options to registering all terrain/off road vehicles:

  1. Title Only (cannot operate vehicle anywhere until it is registered, a plate will still be issued with no registration)
  2. Only Off-road (off road use only, will only receive an OHV decal for one year)
  3. Primarily off road 
    • Reduced Registration cost
    • Must carry insurance or submit a de-insured certificate when not in use
    • 1 year registration, 1 year OHV registration (can only apply for one year at a time)
  4. Only on-road
    • Full registration for 1,2 or 5 years
    • must carry insurance of submit a de-insured certificate when not in use